Faculty Mentors

Each Integrated Sciences student must have a faculty mentor (as explained in the Degree Proposal Guidelines), who helps the student in planning and rationalizing her/his IntSci curriculum. There are approximately 150 faculty members mentoring Integrated Sciences students. Students are encouraged to search the UBC community for faculty members specializing in their area of interest.

If there are no available faculty members at UBC that match your area of interest, you could consider a faculty member who you have already been in contact with but may not specialize in your area of interest (for example, through a course or through working in a lab). Please have your mentor confirm that he or she has agreed to be your mentor by sending an email to: intsci@science.ubc.ca. More information for prospective faculty mentors can be found here: Prospective Mentors.

The following is a sample list of a few UBC faculty members who can serve as mentors for IntSci students.

Photo Name Research Area Email Phone
James Charbonneau Physics james@phas.ubc.ca
Celeste Leander Marine Biology cleander@mail.ubc.ca 604-827-5608
Santokh Singh Plant physiology and cell biology santokh@mail.ubc.ca 604-822-3330
Michael Hasinoff Particle & Nuclear Physics hasinoff@physics.ubc.ca 604-822-2360
Carl Michal Biophysics and Biological Materials michal@phas.ubc.ca 604-822-2432
Bob Shadwick Comparative Physiology shadwick@zoology.ubc.ca 604-827-3149
Steven Wolfman Computer Science, Educational Technology wolf@cs.ubc.ca 604-822-0407
Brett Eaton Geography, Geomorphology, Environmental Science brett.eaton@ubc.ca 604-822-2257
Jason Read Biochemistry jaread@interchange.ubc.ca 604-822-7582
Pamela Kalas Biology kalas@zoology.ubc.ca 604-822-3346
Kathryn Zeiler Biochemistry and Molecular Biology zeiler@zoology.ubc.ca 604-822-3348
Lee Groat Mineralogy, Geology groat@mail.ubc.ca
Gail Hammond Nutrition gail.hammond@ubc.ca
Rik Blok Statistical physics, theoretical population dynamics rik.blok@ubc.ca
Timothy Murphy Neuroscience tim.murphy@ubc.ca 604-822-0705
Mark MacLean Geometry and Analysis maclean@math.ubc.ca 604-827-3038
Cathy Rankin Behavioural Neuroscience crankin@psych.ubc.ca 604-822-5449
Jaymie Matthews Astronomy & Astrophysics matthews@astro.ubc.ca 604-822-2696
Patrice Belleville Computer Science patrice@cs.ubc.ca 604-822-9870
Rick Taylor Biodiversity, Molecular Ecology, Evolution, Conservation etaylor@zoology.ubc.ca 604-822-9152
Patrick Martone Biomechanics, evolution, and functional morphology of marine macroalgae pmartone@mail.ubc.ca 604-822-9338