Faculty Mentors

Each Integrated Sciences student must have a faculty mentor (as explained in the Degree Proposal Guidelines), who helps the student in planning and rationalizing her/his IntSci curriculum. There are approximately 150 faculty members mentoring Integrated Sciences students. Students are encouraged to search the UBC community for faculty members specializing in their area of interest.

If there are no available faculty members at UBC that match your area of interest, you could consider a faculty member who you have already been in contact with but may not specialize in your area of interest (for example, through a course or through working in a lab). Please have your mentor confirm that he or she has agreed to be your mentor by sending an email to: intsci@science.ubc.ca. More information for prospective faculty mentors can be found here: Prospective Mentors.

The following is a sample list of a few UBC faculty members who can serve as mentors for IntSci students.

Photo Name Research Area Email Phone
James Charbonneau Physics james@phas.ubc.ca
Bob Shadwick Comparative Physiology shadwick@zoology.ubc.ca 604-827-3149
Brett Eaton Geography, Geomorphology, Environmental Science brett.eaton@ubc.ca 604-822-2257
Celeste Leander Marine Biology cleander@mail.ubc.ca 604-827-5608
Jason Read Biochemistry jaread@interchange.ubc.ca 604-822-7582
Lee Groat Mineralogy, Geology groat@mail.ubc.ca
Kathryn Zeiler Biochemistry and Molecular Biology zeiler@zoology.ubc.ca 604-822-3348
Michael Hasinoff Particle & Nuclear Physics hasinoff@physics.ubc.ca 604-822-2360
Pamela Kalas Biology kalas@zoology.ubc.ca 604-822-3346
Santokh Singh Plant physiology and cell biology santokh@mail.ubc.ca 604-822-3330
Carl Michal Biophysics and Biological Materials michal@phas.ubc.ca 604-822-2432
Steven Wolfman Computer Science, Educational Technology wolf@cs.ubc.ca 604-822-0407
Patrice Belleville Computer Science patrice@cs.ubc.ca 604-822-9870
Rik Blok Statistical physics, theoretical population dynamics rik.blok@ubc.ca
Mark MacLean Geometry and Analysis maclean@math.ubc.ca 604-827-3038
Gail Hammond Nutrition gail.hammond@ubc.ca
Timothy Murphy Neuroscience tim.murphy@ubc.ca 604-822-0705
Jaymie Matthews Astronomy & Astrophysics matthews@astro.ubc.ca 604-822-2696
Cathy Rankin Behavioural Neuroscience crankin@psych.ubc.ca 604-822-5449
Patrick Martone Biomechanics, evolution, and functional morphology of marine macroalgae pmartone@mail.ubc.ca 604-822-9338
Rick Taylor Biodiversity, Molecular Ecology, Evolution, Conservation etaylor@zoology.ubc.ca 604-822-9152