Faculty Mentors

The following is a list of UBC faculty members who can serve as mentors for IntSci students. Each IntSci student must have a faculty mentor (as explained in the Degree Proposal Guidelines), who helps the student in planning and rationalizing her/his IntSci curriculum. If there are no available mentors that match your area of interest we encourage you to contact any other faculty member at UBC. You should choose a faculty member who you have already been in contact with (for example, through a course or through working in a lab). If the faculty member agrees to become your mentor an IntSci advisor will be paired with the new mentor to assist with advising. Please have your mentor confirm that he or she has agreed to be your mentor by sending an email to: intsci@science.ubc.ca. More information for prospective faculty mentors can be found here: Prospective Mentors.

Photo Name Research Area Email Phone Interview
Steven Wolfman Computer Science, Educational Technology wolf@cs.ubc.ca 604-822-0407
Brett Eaton Geography, Geomorphology, Environmental Science brett.eaton@ubc.ca 604-822-2257
Pierre Kennepohl Chemistry pierre@chem.ubc.ca 604-822-3817
Craig Berezowsky Genetics craigber@interchange.ubc.ca 604-822-0967
Celeste Leander Marine Biology cleander@mail.ubc.ca 604-827-5608
Santokh Singh Plant physiology and cell biology santokh@mail.ubc.ca 604-822-3330
Michael Hasinoff Particle & Nuclear Physics hasinoff@physics.ubc.ca 604-822-2360
Carl Michal Biophysics and Biological Materials michal@phas.ubc.ca 604-822-2432
Kathryn Zeiler Biochemistry and Molecular Biology zeiler@zoology.ubc.ca 604-822-3348
Pamela Kalas Biology kalas@zoology.ubc.ca 604-822-3346
Tracy Kion Microbiology and Immunology tracy.kion@ubc.ca 604-822-6298
Bob Shadwick Comparative Physiology shadwick@zoology.ubc.ca 604-827-3149
Jason Read Biochemistry jaread@interchange.ubc.ca 604-822-7582
Lee Groat Mineralogy, Geology groat@mail.ubc.ca Mentor Spotlight
Steven Barnes Behavioural Neuroscience sjb@psych.ubc.ca 604-822-4656 UBC people spotlight
Cathy Rankin Behavioural Neuroscience crankin@psych.ubc.ca 604-822-5449
Gail Hammond Nutrition gail.hammond@ubc.ca
Timothy Murphy Neuroscience tim.murphy@ubc.ca 604-822-0705
Jaymie Matthews Astronomy & Astrophysics matthews@astro.ubc.ca 604-822-2696 UBC news spotlight
Mark MacLean Geometry and Analysis maclean@math.ubc.ca 604-827-3038
Amir Ali Sepehry Clinical Neuroscience with a special interest in neuropsychiatric syndromes in dementia sepehryaa@alumni.ubc.ca
Rik Blok Statistical physics, theoretical population dynamics rik.blok@ubc.ca Mentor Spotlight
Patrick Martone Biomechanics, evolution, and functional morphology of marine macroalgae pmartone@mail.ubc.ca 604-822-9338
Rick Taylor Biodiversity, Molecular Ecology, Evolution, Conservation etaylor@zoology.ubc.ca 604-822-9152